Erin’s Favourite Twitterers of 2009

Firstly, yes – I’ve added snow to my blog. Considering the wildly uncomfortable Australian summer we are about to move into, it’s the closest I’ll get to cool comfort until at least April. Will take what I can get.

So, to the matter at hand…

As you’ll have surmised by now, I am rather a fan of the Twitter phenomenon (it took me three gos to spell that right – the lit major in me is cussing right now). Through it, I’ve met some of the most lovely, fascinating people I’ve met in a long time. And I figured it’s only fair that I pay their brilliance forward.

One of the joys of social networking, perhaps Twitter more than any, is it’s ability to facilitate meeting people across the world who share similar passions, thoughts and interests. Considering my collection of these things is more varied than a bag of Skittles, I’ve come across some absolute gems in my quest to know more about the world in which I live.

So…firstly, Bloggers.

If you are one of those blog snobs who refuses to extend your cyberspace surfing beyond the stockmarket reports (where I come from, stock markets involve selling cows, which is far more audience-participation friendly) and googling who Jennifer Aniston is dating, then you are missing out on a world of amazing minds. Especially these.

  • Kate Gilby was the very first I-didn’t-know-you-from-a-bar-of-soap person who ever tweeted me. Much like the oft quoted line, she had me at hello. She is full of sparkly conversation and so help me, she has a cracking wit that makes you believe afresh in a world that can be both alight with a million joyous possibilities, and full of insane sociopaths & football supporters. She makes me laugh. Please note this to be a hazard if reading her blog or tweets whilst sitting on a tall stool. It can be a long way down.
  • Spike Wyatt I met via a random message with the lovely Kate mentioned above. I called him a grammar Yoda. And yet amazingly, he still still talks to me. As a freelance publisher, he is full of professional gems regarding how to succeed in the business of helping other businesses to succeed. As a human being, he is one of the most genuine, funny and insightful people you will find, either in cyberspace, or out there in the world also containing other human beings far less interesting. Do yourself a favour. Look him up.

Secondly, unless you have been living under a rock, you will have noticed the absolute bevy of great television going around these days. Here’s a few of my nearest and dearest in the world of TV fandom.

This week I’m dedicating to The Vampire Diaries.

If this show gets any more pithy, witty, sharp or just plain fun, the rest of the vampiric TV world can pretty much pack up and go home. Unlike it’s rather more, shall we say risque cousin, True Blood, The Vampire Diaries – based on the book series by L.J. Smith – is some of the best supernaturally escapist TV there is.

It’s characters (whilst utterly, completely and nigh on DISGRACEFULLY beautiful in their collective composition) are equally tempered with sharp wit, interesting back stories and are subsequently brought to life by both some very talented actors and the utterly fabulous writing team of Julie Plec, Kevin Williamson and Barbie Kligman.

It’s brilliantly cast, too: Ian Somerhalder, which many will remember as Lost’s ill-fated Boone Carlyle, Paul Wesley (recently seen as Jack Bauer’s son-in-law on the current season of 24….also seen on my PC desktop because he is hands DOWN the most beautiful vampire in TV history – LOVE him), and the stunning Nina Dobrev, who continues to give amazing nuance to the character of Elena Gilbert, week in week out, without fail.

This show gets my top vote – not just for the show, but also for the willingness of the people involved to communicate with, and make themselves accessible to,  it’s fans on a regular basis. To me, that’s pretty cool, you know? It is just the best fun twittering back and forth with other lovers of this show too – they are the coolest bunch of fans around.

Some of it’s awesome and most noteworthy twitterers include the lovely @leemacodrum, Steve & Niyah at @CW_VampDiaries, and the gorgeous folks at @tvdnews, @tvdfansonline and @TeamKatGraham, just to name a few.

So…

Do yourself a favour. These people are fantastic. Tune in and/or follow? You won’t be disappointed.

2 responses to “Erin’s Favourite Twitterers of 2009

  1. Definitely not worthy of such praise, especially from the Princess Leia of Twitter, but thank you I do, yes, hmmm. It’s great to see you blogging again. In fact, it’s so good that I might even get that bar of soap from which you didn’t know Kate (isn’t she the funniest, smartest person ever?!) and go have a wash. And it’s not even my birthday.

  2. Aaw, thanks for the shout-out! That’s very sweet of you :-) Shuffles off thinking I might change the description of my blog to ‘an everyday tale of insane sociopaths’ …

Leave a Reply

